Faculty members inducted into the Chan Zuckerberg Biohub Investigator Program

Six faculty members in the UCSF School of Pharmacy were inducted into the 2022 cohort of Chan Zuckerberg Biohub Investigators, earning them each $1 million over the next five years in support of bold research efforts in fields across the biological sciences.

Zev Gartner, PhD; Bo Huang, PhD; and Aashish Manglik, MD, PhD, faculty members in the Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry; and Tanja Kortemme, PhD; Rada Savic, PhD; and Seth Shipman, PhD, faculty members in the Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences; were among a total of 86 faculty members selected out of nearly 700 applicants for the honor.

The Chan Zuckerberg Biohub Investigator Program is available to faculty from Stanford University, UC San Francisco, and UC Berkeley. Beyond funding the innovative research of its investigators, the program aims to build “engaged, collaborative scientific communities to help solve critical challenges in biomedicine.”

“These scientists have produced groundbreaking discoveries and tangible advances in patient care over the years, all while lifting up the careers of students and colleagues, ” said Thomas Kearney, PharmD, interim dean of the School of Pharmacy. “This award from the Chan Zuckerberg Biohub will enable them to continue their work full-throttle. Congratulations to all.”


School of Pharmacy, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, PharmD Degree Program

About the School: The UCSF School of Pharmacy aims to solve the most pressing health care problems and strives to ensure that each patient receives the safest, most effective treatments. Our discoveries seed the development of novel therapies, and our researchers consistently lead the nation in NIH funding. The School’s doctor of pharmacy (PharmD) degree program, with its unique emphasis on scientific thinking, prepares students to be critical thinkers and leaders in their field.