Leslie Benet, PhD

Phone: +1 415 476-3853
Fax: +1 415 476-8887
513 Parnassus Avenue, MSB, Rm 822B
UCSF Box 0912
San Francisco, CA 94117
United States


Departmental research area

My research expertise

pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, pharmacogenomics, drug transporters, drug metabolism, drug-drug interactions, biopharmaceutics, drug delivery, enzymes and transporters, biopharmaceutics classification system (BCS), biopharmaceutics drug disposition classification system (BDDCS)

Professional background


Dr. Benet, Professor and former Chairman (1978-1998), Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, Schools of Pharmacy and Medicine, University of California, San Francisco, received his A.B. (English), B.S. (Pharmacy), M.S. from the University of Michigan and Ph.D. from the University of California. He has received nine honorary doctorates: Uppsala University, Sweden (Pharm.D., 1987), Leiden University, The Netherlands (Ph.D., 1995), University of Illinois at Chicago (D.Sc., 1997), Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science (D.Sc., 1997), Long Island University (D.Sc., 1999), University of Athens, Greece (Ph.D., 2005), Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium (Ph.D., 2010), University of Michigan (D.Sc., 2011) and University of Lisbon, Portugal (Ph.D., 2016). His research interests, more than 620 publications, 7 books and 12 patents are in the areas of pharmacokinetics, biopharmaceutics, drug delivery and pharmacodynamics. Dr. Benet is listed by Clarivate Analytics as one of the most highly cited pharmacologists worldwide with his published peer-reviewed papers cited over 33,000 times, while Google Scholar credits him with over 50,000 citations. His most recent work has addressed the deficiencies of in vitro-in vivo extrapolation (IVIVE) and different approaches to advancing our understanding and prediction of clearance processes. Dr. Benet was a Founder/Editor of the JOURNAL OF PHARMACOKINETICS AND BIOPHARMACEUTICS (1973-98) and Associate Editor of PHARMACOLOGY AND THERAPEUTICS (1995-2000). He presently serves a member of the Editorial boards of PHARMACOLOGY and AAPS JOURNAL. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS), the American College of Clinical Pharmacology (ACCP) and the Controlled Release Society (CRS). In 1982, Dr. Benet received the APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences (APS) Research Achievement Award in Pharmaceutics and the University of Michigan, College of Pharmacy, Distinguished Alumnus Award. In 1985, he served as President of APS. During 1986, Dr. Benet was a Founder and first President of the AAPS. In 1987, Dr. Benet was elected to membership in the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. In 1988, he received the ACCP Distinguished Service Award and in 1989, the AAPS Distinguished Pharmaceutical Scientist Award. In 1990, he was the recipient of the Rho Chi Lecture Award, and the UCSF Long Teaching Award, while in 1991, he received the Volwiler Research Achievement Award of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP). In 1993-94, he served as AACP President. In 1995, he received the Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award of the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (ASCPT); in 1996, the AAPS Distinguished Service Award; and in 2000 the APhA Takeru Higuchi Research Prize and the AAPS Wurster Research Award in Pharmaceutics. In 2001 he was awarded the Høst-Madsen Medal of the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP) and the UCSF Outstanding Faculty Mentorship Award (repeated in 2016). In 2004, he was awarded the Pharmaceutical Sciences World Congress Research Achievement Award and the CRS Career Achievement in Oral Drug Delivery Award. In 2007 he was selected as the UCSF Distinguished Clinical Research Lecturer; in 2010, the ASCPT Hunter Memorial Award in Therapeutics; and in 2011 the ACCP Distinguished Investigator award. In 2012, the September issue of PHARMACEUTICAL RESEARCH was dedicated in his honor and he was made an honorary member of FIP. In 2013, he was awarded the APhA Ebert Prize, the AAPS Journal Outstanding Manuscript award and the September issue of JOURNAL OF PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES was dedicated in his honor. In 2015 he received the ISSX North American Scientific Achievement award; in 2016 the Remington Honor Medal from the APhA, the highest honor in American Pharmacy; and in 2017 a full day symposium in his honor entitled “The Cutting Edge in Pharmaceutical Sciences—50 Years of Progress Celebrating Les Benet’s 80th Birthday” was held in conjunction with the Pharmaceutical Sciences World Congress in Stockholm, Sweden. In 2023 he received the Lifetime Achievement Award of the Frankfurt Foundation for the Quality of Medicines. Dr. Benet formerly served as Chair of the Pharmacology Study Section and the Pharmacological Sciences Review Committee for the NIH, the FDA CBER Peer Review Committee, the FDA Expert Panel on Individual Bioequivalence, the Board of Pharmaceutical Sciences of the FIP, the Organizing Committee for the FIP Millennial World Congress of Pharmaceutical Sciences, the Congressionally mandated NAM/National Research Council (NRC) Committee on Accelerating the Research, Development and Acquisition of Medical Countermeasures Against Biological Warfare Agents and the FIP Foundation for Education and Research and as a member of the FDA Science Board, the FDA Generic Drugs Advisory Committee and the NRC Biodefense Standing Committee. He presently serves as Chair of the Board of Directors of Medicines360, a nonprofit pharmaceutical company, emphasizing products for women’s health. July 2023

Research keywords

  • Hepatocytes
  • Cytochrome P-450 CYP3A
  • Cyclosporine
  • biopharmaceutics
  • Nitroglycerin
  • Intestinal Absorption
  • Cytochrome P-450 Enzyme System
  • Metabolic Clearance Rate
  • pharmacokinetics
  • Microsomes, Liver
  • Therapeutic Equivalency
  • drug interactions
  • liver
  • Biological Models
  • Pharmaceutical Preparations