Benet to receive ISSX North American Scientific Achievement Award

UCSF School of Pharmacy faculty member Leslie Benet, PhD, has been named the 2015 recipient of the North American Scientific Achievement Award, presented by the International Society for the Study of Xenobiotics (ISSX).

The award recognizes Benet’s long-standing leadership in discovering key principles related to drug metabolism and transport in the body, also known as pharmacokinetics, which has made him one of the most highly cited pharmacologists worldwide. The award is in honor of the late Ronald W. Estabrook, PhD, the renowned biochemist who pioneered research into key drug-metabolizing enzymes.

The award, sponsored by XenoTech Inc., will be presented at the 20th North American ISSX Meeting on October 19, 2015 in Orlando, Florida, during a session where Benet will also deliver a lecture. Washington, D.C.-based ISSX is an international association of scientists that promotes the understanding of the interactions of medicines and chemicals with living systems and conducts scientific meetings worldwide.

“Les is a passionate researcher whose work has opened up new fields of inquiry,” wrote School faculty member Kathy Giacomini, PhD, in her nomination letter. “The conceptual advances he has made have been strong and at times paradigm shifting.”

Benet is a faculty member in the Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, a joint department of the UCSF Schools of Pharmacy and Medicine. He has been a member of the School faculty since 1969 and chaired the department (then named Biopharmaceutical Sciences) for two decades.


[Leslie Z. Benet Named 2015 North American Scientific Achievement Award Recipient][link defunct]

About the School: The UCSF School of Pharmacy is a premier graduate-level academic organization dedicated to improving health through precise therapeutics. It succeeds through innovative research, by educating PharmD health professional and PhD science students, and by caring for the therapeutics needs of patients while exploring innovative new models of patient care. The School was founded in 1872 as the first pharmacy school in the American West. It is an integral part of UC San Francisco, a leading university dedicated to promoting health worldwide.