UCSF School of Pharmacy leads in NIH funding for 35th year in a row

For the 35th consecutive year, the UCSF School of Pharmacy has received more funding from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) than any other pharmacy school in the United States.

School researchers were awarded $31.8 million during the 2014 fiscal year, from October 1, 2013 to September 30, 2014.

“The decades-long success of the School of Pharmacy in receiving this competitive funding is based on a faculty driven toward scientific discovery from the molecule to the bedside,” said Dean B. Joseph Guglielmo, PharmD. “The ultimate result of their work is evidenced by the improved health of patients through the development and use of more precise therapeutics.”

This year also marks the fifth year in a row in which a junior School faculty member has received the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award, which supports “exceptionally creative” early career researchers. This year’s awardee was Adam Abate, PhD, who is developing a method to swiftly sort and analyze the cells involved in autoimmune diseases like lupus and rheumatoid arthritis in order to develop better, more targeted treatments.

The top five School recipients of NIH funding in fiscal year 2014:

  1. Kathy Giacomini, PhD, $4,048,105
  2. Esteban Burchard, MD, MPH, $3,808,140
  3. Ruth Greenblatt, MD, $3,164,375
  4. Adam Abate, PhD, $2,916,913
  5. Al Burlingame, PhD, $1,746,341



School of Pharmacy, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, Department of Clinical Pharmacy, PharmD Degree Program, BMI, CCB, PSPG, Bioinformatics, Biophysics

About the School: The UCSF School of Pharmacy aims to solve the most pressing health care problems and strives to ensure that each patient receives the safest, most effective treatments. Our discoveries seed the development of novel therapies, and our researchers consistently lead the nation in NIH funding. The School’s doctor of pharmacy (PharmD) degree program, with its unique emphasis on scientific thinking, prepares students to be critical thinkers and leaders in their field.