Five Clinical Pharmacy faculty members are recognized for their efforts in education

The UC San Francisco School of Pharmacy had five faculty members recognized by the Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators (AME). The AME, housed in the School of Medicine, supports the teaching mission at UC San Francisco with teacher development activities and recognition of leading medical educators. All five are faculty members in the School’s Department of Clinical Pharmacy.

The Academy of Medical Educators

Jaekyu Shin, PharmD, and Valerie Clinard, PharmD, were both inaugurated into the AME.


Jaekyu Shin, PharmD.

Shin directs the Cardiovascular Sciences & Therapeutics block in the doctor of pharmacy (PharmD) curriculum and co-leads the Assessment Team. He also precepts pharmacy students on inpatient cardiology and ambulatory care for Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experiences (APPE).

Clinard is the School’s associate dean of experiential education and professional development, and oversees roughly 30 percent of the PharmD program. She also teaches students in the classroom and precepts Introductory Pharmacy Practice Experiences (IPPE) and APPE students as part of an ambulatory care patient care experience.

Clinard and Shin join Sharon L. Youmans, PharmD, Conan MacDougall, PharmD, and Sharya Bourdet, PharmD, all faculty members in the Department of Clinical Pharmacy, who are also members of the AME.

An inaugural teaching award


Cathi Dennehy, PharmD

Three Department of Clinical Pharmacy faculty members were also awarded the inaugural 2020 Excellence in Interprofessional Teaching Award from the UCSF Program for Interprofessional Practice and Education and the AME.

Cathi Dennehy, PharmD, Katherine Gruenberg, PharmD, and Zlatan Coralic, PharmD, were all among the first group of teachers to win the peer-nominated award.

Susan Merrell

Katherine Gruenberg, PharmD

Dennehy is an educational director in the PharmD curriculum and has been involved in building and revising it based on student and facilitator feedback. Her peers nominated her in part based on the positive feedback from her students, who praised her enthusiasm as a teacher.

Gruenberg works on the Infectious Disease Pharmacy Team at UCSF Health and has won several sustainability awards for her work making the profession more environmentally-friendly. “It’s an honor to be recognized by faculty who are my role models for interprofessional teaching,” Gruenberg said.


Zlatan Coralic, PharmD

Coralic works in the UCSF Emergency Department and helps train pharmacy residents. He was nominated for the award by peers who praised his ability to work with colleagues, students and patients alike. “Everything I know and teach today has been shaped by a decade of shared clinical experience with some of the most amazing clinicians I have had the privilege to be bedside with,” he said.

The award was presented virtually at the UCSF Academy of Medical Educators Annual Celebration on Thursday, September 17, 2020.


School of Pharmacy, Department of Clinical Pharmacy, PharmD Degree Program

About the School: The UCSF School of Pharmacy aims to solve the most pressing health care problems and strives to ensure that each patient receives the safest, most effective treatments. Our discoveries seed the development of novel therapies, and our researchers consistently lead the nation in NIH funding. The School’s doctor of pharmacy (PharmD) degree program, with its unique emphasis on scientific thinking, prepares students to be critical thinkers and leaders in their field.