Kortemme and Desai honored at annual meeting of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering

Kortemme inducted into AIMBE College of Fellows; Desai elected president of AIMBE

Two UCSF School of Pharmacy faculty members, Tanja Kortemme, PhD, and Tejal Desai, PhD, were elected into prestigious roles at the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) this month. Kortemme was inducted into the AIMBE College of Fellows, and Desai, who is both a current fellow and the chair of the College of Fellows, was named the president-elect of the AIMBE.

“The College of Fellows is comprised of the top two percent of medical and biological engineers,” according to the AIMBE. The AIMBE is dedicated to providing “leadership and advocacy in medical and biological engineering for the benefit of society.”

Kortemme and Desai are both faculty members in the Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences (BTS), a joint department of the UCSF Schools of Pharmacy and Medicine.

Other new inductees to the College of Fellows from UCSF include Atul Butte, MD, PhD; Julius Guccione, Jr., PhD; and Thomas Link, MD, PhD. They join sixteen UCSF faculty members who are current AIMBE fellows, including BTS faculty member Shuvo Roy, PhD.


Butte, Guccione, Kortemme, and Link Inducted Into American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (UCSF Precision Medicine)

Tanja Kortemme Inducted into Medical and Biological Engineering Elite (AIMBE)

About the School: The UCSF School of Pharmacy is a premier graduate-level academic organization dedicated to improving health through precise therapeutics. It succeeds through innovative research, by educating PharmD health professional and PhD science students, and by caring for the therapeutics needs of patients while exploring innovative new models of patient care. The School was founded in 1872 as the first pharmacy school in the American West. It is an integral part of UC San Francisco, a leading university dedicated to promoting health worldwide.