Grants & fellowships: spring 2015

Pharmaceutical Chemistry department members have received the following grants and fellowships between April and June 2015:

4/24/2015: John Gross was awarded a new R21 grant from the NIH/NIAID entitled, “Developing Small Molecule Screens for Vif-APRBEC3 antagonists.” The project will run until 2017.

5/13/2015: Lyndsay Murrow, a postdoctoral scholar in Zev Gartner’s lab, was awarded a four year fellowship from The Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation fellowship for her project entitled, "Fate specification of mammary stem cells by cell self-sorting."

5/18/2015: Alex Hughes, a postdoctoral scholar in Zev Gartner’s lab, was awarded the Jane Coffin Childs Memorial Fund for Medical Research for the period of three years beginning July 1, 2015 and ending June 30, 2018.

5/20/2015: Steven Altschuler’s proposal for a PBBR New Frontier Research Award, entitled “Reverse engineering brain wiring of the fly visual system,” was selected for funding.

About the School: The UCSF School of Pharmacy is a premier graduate-level academic organization dedicated to improving health through precise therapeutics. It succeeds through innovative research, by educating PharmD health professional and PhD science students, and by caring for the therapeutics needs of patients while exploring innovative new models of patient care. The School was founded in 1872 as the first pharmacy school in the American West. It is an integral part of UC San Francisco, a leading university dedicated to promoting health worldwide.