Giacomini elected to IOM

Kathy M. Giacomini, PhD, chair of the UCSF School of Pharmacy department of biopharmaceutical sciences, has been elected a member of the Institute of Medicine based upon her research achievements and commitment to service. Giacomini is an international leader in the field of membrane transporters and pharmacogenetics. She joins 3 other UCSF School of Pharmacy faculty members on the IOM membership roster:

  • Leslie Benet, PhD
  • Mary Anne Koda-Kimble, PharmD and
  • Robert Langridge, PhD.

A total of 73 UCSF faculty members are now IOM members.

Full story

Three UCSF Faculty Elected to Institute of Medicine



School of Pharmacy, Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, PharmD Degree Program, BMI, QBC, PSPG, Bioinformatics

About the School: The UCSF School of Pharmacy aims to solve the most pressing health care problems and strives to ensure that each patient receives the safest, most effective treatments. Our discoveries seed the development of novel therapies, and our researchers consistently lead the nation in NIH funding. The School’s doctor of pharmacy (PharmD) degree program, with its unique emphasis on scientific thinking, prepares students to be critical thinkers and leaders in their field.