Ortiz de Montellano, Voigt, and Wells recognized for their science

Three UCSF School of Pharmacy scientists, Paul R. Ortiz de Montellano, PhD; Christopher A. Voigt, PhD; and James A. Wells, PhD have been recognized for their outstanding research.

  • Ortiz de Montellano

    Ortiz de Montellano was named recipient of the 2005 Volwiler Research Achievement Award by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP). He will be recognized July 9, 2006 at the AACP annual meeting in San Diego, California.

  • Voigt

    Voigt was named one of 15 2006 Pew Scholars in the Biomedical Sciences. The Pew Charitable Trusts established this award to support promising scientists in the early to mid stages of their careers.

  • Wells

    Wells has been named the 2006 David Perlman Lecturer by the American Chemical Society (ACS) Division of Biochemical Technology. The lecture will be presented at the national ACS meeting, to be held in San Francisco, California September 10 to 14, 2006.


Full story

Three School of Pharmacy Research Scientists Receive Top Honors 


Fifteen Researchers Named Pew Scholars


About the School: The UCSF School of Pharmacy aims to solve the most pressing health care problems and strives to ensure that each patient receives the safest, most effective treatments. Our discoveries seed the development of novel therapies, and our researchers consistently lead the nation in NIH funding. The School’s doctor of pharmacy (PharmD) degree program, with its unique emphasis on scientific thinking, prepares students to be critical thinkers and leaders in their field.