Gruenberg elected to UCSF Academy of Medical Educators

Katherine Gruenberg, PharmD, MEd, faculty member in the Department of Clinical Pharmacy, will join the Class of 2022 in The Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators (AME). Members of the UCSF organization demonstrate excellence in education, curriculum development, and mentoring.

Gruenberg, who is a Class of 2015 PharmD graduate from the School of Pharmacy and Bowl of Hygeia nominee, has received past honors for her work creating sustainability practices in pharmaceutical development and use. In 2017 she won the Sustainability Award in the Student category for developing coursework required of PharmD students that addressed interactions between climate change and health care.

The following year she was awarded by the UCSF Academic Senate Sustainability Committee for work she does with UCSF internal medicine clinics to properly dispose of pharmaceuticals. As a specialist in infectious disease, Gruenberg also focuses on how over-prescription of antibiotics can impact the environment.

Gruenberg will be honored along with the other 2022 AME Awardees during a celebration on Wednesday, September 21, from 3 to 5 p.m. Pacific time. Register for the event at Sandler Neurosciences Auditorium at Mission Bay Campus and on Zoom.


School of Pharmacy, PharmD Degree Program

About the School: The UCSF School of Pharmacy aims to solve the most pressing health care problems and strives to ensure that each patient receives the safest, most effective treatments. Our discoveries seed the development of novel therapies, and our researchers consistently lead the nation in NIH funding. The School’s doctor of pharmacy (PharmD) degree program, with its unique emphasis on scientific thinking, prepares students to be critical thinkers and leaders in their field.