Kroon named chair of the UCSF Department of Clinical Pharmacy

Lisa Kroon, PharmD, a pharmacist and educator as well as a clinical researcher in the fields of diabetes and tobacco cessation, has been named the new chair of the Department of Clinical Pharmacy within the UCSF School of Pharmacy. The appointment will be effective July 1, 2013.

Kroon has served as interim chair of the department since July 2012, when previous department chair, B. Joseph Guglielmo, PharmD, was appointed interim dean, and later dean of the School of Pharmacy. She has held faculty positions at UCSF since 1996 and became a full professor with the Department of Clinical Pharmacy in 2008.

“The leadership of both the Department of Clinical Pharmacy and the UCSF Medical Center’s Department of Pharmaceutical Services unanimously supported Lisa’s selection,” Dean Guglielmo said. “We are fortunate to have such an accomplished, even-keeled department chair.”


Lisa Kroon Named Chair of UCSF Department of Clinical Pharmacy - UCSF


School of Pharmacy, Department of Clinical Pharmacy, PharmD Degree Program

About the School: The UCSF School of Pharmacy aims to solve the most pressing health care problems and strives to ensure that each patient receives the safest, most effective treatments. Our discoveries seed the development of novel therapies, and our researchers consistently lead the nation in NIH funding. The School’s doctor of pharmacy (PharmD) degree program, with its unique emphasis on scientific thinking, prepares students to be critical thinkers and leaders in their field.