Dean Giacomini named prestigious alumni awardee by University at Buffalo

Kathy Giacomini, PhD, BSPharm, dean of the UCSF School of Pharmacy, has been named the 2023 recipient of the Willis G. Gregory Memorial Award, the most prestigious award given by the Alumni Association at the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

Giacomini, who earned a PhD at Buffalo in 1979, will be honored as an outstanding alum who personifies the ideals of service, integrity, and profession of pharmacy in the eyes of their colleagues.

Giacomini is being recognized as a world-renowned scientist and one of the foremost experts on pharmacogenomics. She is a professor of bioengineering and therapeutic sciences at UCSF School of Pharmacy, and she chaired its Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences for more than 10 years.

In her long career at UCSF, Giacomini has been an active mentor to pharmacy students and graduate students, as well as a champion for women and underrepresented groups in science. She developed parental leave policies for the campus, and she continues to champion issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion. At UCSF, she also has received the Chancellor’s Award for the Advancement of Women and the Martin Luther King Award.

“My University at Buffalo education was second to none—especially being mentored by Gerhard Levy, considered to be one of the originators of the biopharmaceutics field and the father of pharmacodynamics,” said Giacomini, who will receive the award at an October 13 ceremony. “The community there was exceptional and unforgettable.”


Congratulations to Kathleen M. Giacomini, PhD ’79, our 2023 Willis G. Gregory Memorial Award recipient


School of Pharmacy, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, Department of Clinical Pharmacy, PharmD Degree Program, BMI, QBC, CCB, PSPG, Bioinformatics, Biophysics, PC Intranet

About the School: The UCSF School of Pharmacy aims to solve the most pressing health care problems and strives to ensure that each patient receives the safest, most effective treatments. Our discoveries seed the development of novel therapies, and our researchers consistently lead the nation in NIH funding. The School’s doctor of pharmacy (PharmD) degree program, with its unique emphasis on scientific thinking, prepares students to be critical thinkers and leaders in their field.