Burchard receives Health Equality Award from Thoracic Society

Esteban G. Burchard, MD, MPH, has received the Innovations in Health Equality Lifetime Achievement Award, bestowed by the American Thoracic Society's Clinicians Advisory Committee and Health Equality Subcommittee.

A peer group of ATS Committee members chose Burchard based on his body of work in supporting health equality over the entire course of his professional career.

"This is the largest professional society of pulmonary physicians and researchers in the world, and so I am deeply honored that they chose to recognize me," said Burchard. "I am very grateful for all of my mentors who encouraged me to merge personal passion with academic rigor."

BTS Department Chair Tejal Desai said, "Please join me in congratulating Esteban—he brings great honor and distinction to our department and to the University."

The ATS is an international society with more than 15,000 members. It is the world's leading medical association dedicated to advancing clinical and scientific understanding of pulmonary diseases, critical illnesses, and sleep-related breathing disorders.

About the School: The UCSF School of Pharmacy is a premier graduate-level academic organization dedicated to improving health through precise therapeutics. It succeeds through innovative research, by educating PharmD health professional and PhD science students, and by caring for the therapeutics needs of patients while exploring innovative new models of patient care. The School was founded in 1872 as the first pharmacy school in the American West. It is an integral part of UC San Francisco, a leading university dedicated to promoting health worldwide.