The UCSF School of Pharmacy is led by the dean, who is the chief administrative officer of the School. The dean oversees:

  • A vice dean who directs all School administration in the absence of the dean and directly oversees the School’s education, diversity, and global health agendas.
  • Three department chairs who develop and administer programs in patient care, research, and education as appropriate for their individual departments.
  • The director of the Quantitative Biosciences Institute (QBI).
  • Unit leaders in the Dean’s Office, which is comprised of multiple administrative and advisory units.

A Dean’s Leadership Group advises the dean.

The School’s faculty is represented through the shared governance model of the Academic Senate, and in particular through the School of Pharmacy Faculty Council, and Senate and School committees.

Dean’s Leadership Group

The Dean’s Leadership Group is an internal advisory group, appointed by the dean, which meets monthly to explore issues and opportunities and to advise the dean on strategies.

  • B. Joseph Guglielmo, PharmD
  • Sharon Youmans, PharmD, MPH
    Vice dean
  • Liana Crosby
    Executive assistant to the dean
    Staff to the Dean’s Leadership Group
  • Tejal Desai, PhD
    Chair, Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences
  • Matt Jacobson, PhD
    Chair, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  • Thomas Kearney, PharmD, DABAT
    Associate dean, academic affairs
  • Lisa Kroon, PharmD, CDE
    Chair, Department of Clinical Pharmacy
  • Susan Levings, MS
    Associate dean, planning and communications
  • Michael Nordberg, MPA/HSA
    Associate dean, administration and finance
  • Andrej Sali, PhD
    Associate dean, research

UCSF and UC administrations

The School of Pharmacy is one of several main campus units with the Chancellor’s Office, School of Dentistry, School of Medicine, School of Nursing, Graduate Division, and UCSF Medical Center. The School is under the administrative oversight of the dean, who reports to the UCSF chancellor, who reports to the UC president, who is accountable to the Regents of the University of California.

UCSF is intensely collaborative. As a result, department faculty members work with colleagues in research, education, and patient care programs across UCSF.