Youmans to serve on Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education

UCSF School of Pharmacy Vice Dean Sharon L. Youmans, PharmD, MPH, has been selected by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) to represent AACP on the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) Board of Directors. Her six-year board term begins July 1, 2020.

ACPE is the national accrediting body for professional degree programs in pharmacy, as well as for providers of continuing pharmaceutical education. In addition, ACPE certifies international education programs and is engaged as a partner with the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists in technician education accreditation.

Youmans served as a practicing pharmacist in community and hospital settings for 15 years before joining the UCSF School of Pharmacy faculty nearly two decades ago.

In her current role as vice dean, Youmans oversees the education mission of the School and helms the doctor of pharmacy (PharmD) degree program. Youmans leads the continuing development and implementation of the new PharmD curriculum, launched in 2018, with a strong foundation in scientific thinking and a patient focus.

About the School: The UCSF School of Pharmacy is a premier graduate-level academic organization dedicated to improving health through precise therapeutics. It succeeds through innovative research, by educating PharmD health professional and PhD science students, and by caring for the therapeutics needs of patients while exploring innovative new models of patient care. The School was founded in 1872 as the first pharmacy school in the American West. It is an integral part of UC San Francisco, a leading university dedicated to promoting health worldwide.