Julius named to Institute of Medicine

David Julius, PhD, professor and chair of physiology and UCSF Morris Herzstein Endowed Chair in Molecular Biology and Medicine was among the 70 newly elected members of the Institute of Medicine (IOM), which recognizes those who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service in the areas of medical sciences, health care and public health. Julius is credited with seminal discoveries regarding the molecular mechanisms by which the skin senses painful stimuli and temperature and produces pain hypersensitivity. His work on noxious stimuli has offered insight to scientists who aim to better understand and treat chronic pain. Julius has been recognized with numerous awards, including the Shaw Prize in Life Sciences Medicine, the Prince of Asturias Award and the Passano Award.


CCB, Biophysics

About the School: The UCSF School of Pharmacy aims to solve the most pressing health care problems and strives to ensure that each patient receives the safest, most effective treatments. Our discoveries seed the development of novel therapies, and our researchers consistently lead the nation in NIH funding. The School’s doctor of pharmacy (PharmD) degree program, with its unique emphasis on scientific thinking, prepares students to be critical thinkers and leaders in their field.