Desai named chair of the Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences

Tejal Desai, PhD, has been named the new chair of the Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences (BTS), a joint department of the UCSF Schools of Pharmacy and Medicine. Her appointment is effective August 1, 2014.

A UCSF faculty member since 2005, Desai has been serving as BTS vice chair. “Tejal’s willingness to serve as department chair is characteristic of her collegial approach to science and education,” said Dean B. Joseph Guglielmo, PharmD. “She is an award-winning bioengineer and an accomplished teacher and administrator who has the deep respect of the faculty. I’m very pleased Tejal has accepted the chair position.”

Desai replaces Kathy Giacomini, PhD, who stepped down to lead the UCSF-Stanford Center of Excellence in Regulatory Science and Innovation, which is funded by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. BTS was previously co-chaired by Giacomini and Sarah Nelson, PhD.


Desai Named Chair of the Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences


School of Pharmacy, Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, PharmD Degree Program, Dean's Office, UCSF - UC Berkeley Joint Graduate Group in Bioengineering, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Pharmacogenomics Graduate Program (PSPG), PSPG

About the School: The UCSF School of Pharmacy aims to solve the most pressing health care problems and strives to ensure that each patient receives the safest, most effective treatments. Our discoveries seed the development of novel therapies, and our researchers consistently lead the nation in NIH funding. The School’s doctor of pharmacy (PharmD) degree program, with its unique emphasis on scientific thinking, prepares students to be critical thinkers and leaders in their field.