Giacomini honored by the 2011 Scheele Award

Kathy Giacomini, PhD, co-chair, UCSF Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, has been named the recipient of the 2011 Scheele Award by the Swedish Academy of Pharmaceutical Scientists. Giacomini is recognized for her work on the pharmacogenetics of membrane transporters and how pharmacogenetic differences affect variations in drug response among individuals. The Scheele award goes to prominent scientists in the field of drug research or related disciplines.

The Scheele Prize Ceremony will be held November 11, 2011, in the area of Stockholm, Sweden, and in conjunction with the Steele Symposium on Giacomini's work. The award celebrates its 50th anniversary in 2011 in memory of Swedish chemist and pharmacist Carl Wilhelm Scheele (1742-1786).


[The Scheele Award 2011 to Professor Kathleen M. Giacomini for her pioneering work on the pharmacogenetics of drug transporters][link defunct as of January 12, 2012]


School of Pharmacy, Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, PharmD Degree Program

About the School: The UCSF School of Pharmacy aims to solve the most pressing health care problems and strives to ensure that each patient receives the safest, most effective treatments. Our discoveries seed the development of novel therapies, and our researchers consistently lead the nation in NIH funding. The School’s doctor of pharmacy (PharmD) degree program, with its unique emphasis on scientific thinking, prepares students to be critical thinkers and leaders in their field.