Tagged: Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences

Update from the Dean - March 2017

Nation debates possibility of dramatically new directions for health care coverage, science funding, immigration, education; Revealing malaria/HIV drug interactions in children; Decreasing cancer drug toxicity while increasing dose; Engineering safer opioids; Evidence for comprehensive medication management; Medicare Part D as a learning model for pharmacy education—impact 10 years out; New genetic insights into diabetes drug response; Annotating the ‘dark genome’; Epigenetics of ethnicity; New endowed professorships made possible by private support; New Center for Cellular Construction; Major funding for UCSF-Stanford CERSI; 2017 Mary Anne Koda-Kimble Seed Award for Innovation; Welcoming the class of 2020; Three generations at the School of Pharmacy; Developing a curriculum for 2018 and beyond; AFPE honors Frank Szoka as Mentor of the Year; 2016 Chancellor Diversity Awards honor Marcus Ferrone and Peace Chukudi; Eddie Way celebrates 100 years; CPhA Hall of Fame honors Brian Komoto, Phillip Oppenheimer, Wilma Wong; $500M gift to campus from Helen Diller Foundation; UC statement on federal executive order restricting travel and entry.

Joan U

Finance Analyst

As a finance analyst, I provide accounting and post-award administration for Drs. Shuvo Roy, Andrej Sali, Francis Szoka and the Bioengineering Graduate Program.

Sandra Salazar

Analyst II

I support Professor Esteban G. Burchard, M.D.,M.P.H. I facilitate, coordinate and support all study recruitment and research activities; manage study databases and facilitate collaboration agreements for the Asthma Collaboratory lab.

Koda-Kimble Seed Award recipients explore 'blue-sky' projects

Recipients of the UCSF School of Pharmacy 2017 Mary Anne Koda-Kimble Seed Award for Innovation will explore ideas ranging from possible new ways to treat obesity to new ways of accessing antibiotic-producing microbes found in soil. Five projects are being funded in this, the third round of awards since the fund was established in 2012.

Five School of Pharmacy researchers in first cohort of Chan Zuckerberg Biohub Investigators

Fifteen UC San Francisco faculty members have been named to the first cohort of Chan Zuckerberg Biohub Investigators, including five from the School of Pharmacy.

Ilona Paredes


In my role as an administrative analyst, I provide administrative support to Professor Kathleen M. Giacomini, and to CERSI (The UCSF-Stanford Center of Excellence in Regulatory Science and Innovation) collaboration between UCSF, Stanford, and the FDA.

Cathleen Nicole Canlas

Faculty Support

Engineering for Children's Health Symposium

Thu Jan 12, 2017 (all day)

ECHI banner

Prien and MacWilliam bequests establish new endowed professorships

The UCSF School of Pharmacy has established new endowed faculty positions to be held by the chairs of two School departments.