Office of Finance and Administration

The Office of Finance and Administration oversees all activities related to finance, compliance, and Dean’s Office administration, serving the dean and the School’s three department chairs.

The office is managed by the associate dean of finance and administration, who reports to the dean.

It is part of the Dean’s Office.

Responsibilities include

Finance

  • Communicating accurate and timely financial information at the levels of the School, the Dean’s Office, and the departments
  • Reporting on financial status
  • Forecasting financial futures
  • Planning for alternate financial directions as needed
  • Ensuring efficient administration of financial resources
  • Working with other campus units to improve campus financial systems

Compliance

  • Promoting Schoolwide awareness of the policies and procedures of the University of California Office of the President, the UCSF Controller’s Office, and the School of Pharmacy Dean’s Office
  • Promoting knowledge and awareness across the School concerning accounting, financial procedures, and internal control policies
  • Providing guidance and training in compliance issues to School faculty and staff members

Administration

General

  • Supporting staff engagement

  • Overseeing administrative IT

  • Managing School space

  • Coordinating the School’s work with central campus human resources service centers and pre-award service centers

Dean’s Office

  • Providing full administrative support to the dean

  • Providing supplemental administrative support to the vice dean and associate dean of academic affairs
  • Providing administrative support to the Dean’s Leadership Group

Expertise includes

  • All areas of finance and budgeting
  • General administration
  • Project prioritization, coordination, planning, and analysis
  • Executive scheduling and meeting preparation
  • Executive presentation and report development
  • Executive communications
  • Information management support
  • Office management
  • Customer relations

Organization chart

PDF iconOrg chart: June 2017

orgchart

Contact us

Michelle King
Administrative Analyst
michelle.king@ucsf.edu
tel: 415-476-0141
fax: 415-476-1508

UCSF Box 1204
3333 California St Rm 218
San Francisco CA 94143

Staff listing

Nordberg

Michael Nordberg, MPA/HSA
Associate Dean of Finance and Administration
michael.nordberg@ucsf.edu
415-706-7997

Controller/Purchasing

Starling-Head

Valerie Starling-Head
Controller
valerie.starling-head@ucsf.edu
415-476-3016

Anderson

Denetra Anderson
Purchasing Analyst
denetra.anderson@ucsf.edu
415-476-8015

Dean’s Office Administration

Rice

Nakisha N. Rice, MA
Operations Manager
nakisha.rice@ucsf.edu
415-514-0891

Crosby
Liana Crosby, MFA

Executive Assistant to the Dean
liana.crosby@ucsf.edu
415-476-8010

 

Shalimar Sancho, MBA
Operations Analyst
415-476-1226
shalimar.sancho@ucsf.edu

Crawford
Joseph Crawford
Special Projects Manager
joseph.crawford@ucsf.edu

Finance and Business Operations

Joves

James Joves, MBA, EdD
Director of Budgets
james.joves@ucsf.edu
415-476-8017

 

La’Trece Cain
Finance Analyst
La'Trece.Cain@ucsf.edu
415-514-3747

Hall

Gregory Hall
Programmer Analyst
gregory.hall@ucsf.edu
415-476-1276

King

Michelle King
Administrative Analyst
michelle.king@ucsf.edu
415-476-0141

All images: Elisabeth Fall