Office of Finance and Administration

Responsibilities include

Finance

  • Ensuring efficient central administration and allocation of financial resources
  • Developing detailed budgets, tracking, and reporting on financial status
  • Forecasting financial futures and planning for alternate financial directions as needed
  • Communicating accurate and timely financial information at the levels of the School, the Dean’s Office, and the departments
  • Working with other campus units to improve campus financial systems

Compliance and purchasing

  • Promoting Schoolwide awareness of the policies and procedures of the University of California Office of the President, the UCSF Controller’s Office, and the School of Pharmacy Dean’s Office
  • Providing guidance and training in compliance issues to School faculty and staff members
  • Maintaining internal controls such as statistical data for audit and compliance review, space management, and equipment inventory management
  • Providing centralized materiel management for the Dean’s Office
  • Interpreting and implementing policy using purchasing guidelines

Administration

  • Establishing and ensuring effective and efficient administrative procedures for the Dean’s Office
  • Providing administrative support to the dean and the vice dean, associate dean of academic affairs, associate dean of finance and administration, and associate dean of planning and communications
  • Providing administrative support to the Dean’s Leadership Group
  • Coordinating the School’s work with central campus human resources service centers, pre-award service centers
  • Representing the School on campus committees dealing with finance, research, information technology, and space
  • Ensuring best use, best practices, maintenance, and upgrade of administrative information technologies
  • Ensuring effective implementation of special events and programs
  • Supporting staff engagement
  • Managing School space

Expertise includes

  • All areas of finance and budgeting
  • Applicable laws, policies, regulations
  • Purchasing and facilities maintenance and upgrades
  • General administration
  • Project prioritization, coordination, planning, and analysis
  • Executive scheduling and meeting preparation, presentation and report development, and communications
  • Information technology management and support
  • Constituent relations

Contact us

Michelle King
Administrative Analyst
michelle.king@ucsf.edu
tel: 415-476-0141
fax: 415-476-1508

UCSF Box 1204
3333 California St Rm 218
San Francisco CA 94143

Staff listing

Nordberg

Michael Nordberg, MPA/HSA
Associate Dean of Finance and Administration
michael.nordberg@ucsf.edu
415-706-7997

Controller/Purchasing

Starling-Head

Valerie Starling-Head
Controller
valerie.starling-head@ucsf.edu
415-476-3016

Anderson

Denetra Anderson
Purchasing Analyst
denetra.anderson@ucsf.edu
415-476-8015

Dean’s Office Administration

Rice

Nakisha N. Rice, MA
Operations Manager
nakisha.rice@ucsf.edu
415-514-0891

 

Shalimar Sancho, MBA
Operations Analyst
415-476-1226
shalimar.sancho@ucsf.edu

Crawford
Joseph Crawford
Special Projects Manager
joseph.crawford@ucsf.edu

Executive Support

Crosby
Liana Crosby, MFA

Executive Assistant to the Dean
liana.crosby@ucsf.edu
415-476-8010

Finance and Business Operations

Joves

James Joves, MBA, EdD
Director of Budgets
james.joves@ucsf.edu
415-476-8017

 

La’Trece Cain
Finance Analyst
La'Trece.Cain@ucsf.edu
415-514-3747

Hall

Gregory Hall
Programmer Analyst
gregory.hall@ucsf.edu
415-476-1276

King

Michelle King
Administrative Analyst
michelle.king@ucsf.edu
415-476-0141

All images: Elisabeth Fall